Please reload

Recent Posts

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Featured Posts

Carpenter, Dickson, Dennis, Adkins Claim Victory in Popular Skyline Opener

April 4, 2017

 (Above: AMRA Late Model winner Freddie Carpenter leads his heat race) 


(Guysville, Ohio) After a long winter of waiting and a week full of rain and unfavorable weather conditions, the Skyline Speedway was able to beat the odds and kick off their 2017 season of racing with a very popular Sunday afternoon of racing on April 2nd. With a packed house on hand and 115 cars packing the pits, the season opening event would usher in a new era of racing at the Skyline Speedway and kick off what is shaping up to be an exciting season of racing in 2017!


The AMRA Late Model portion of the evenings racing action would feature a diverse group of standout talents doing battle on the 3/8th mile oval. Zack Milbee would score the evening's Fast Qualifier award presented by Mike Martin and would kick off the action in heat race #1 on the pole. On the start, Freddie Carpenter would make it past Milbee and cruise his way to the heat race win. Heat races #2 and #3 for the AMRA Late Models would see brothers Nick and Zack Dohm score the victories, while Anthony Kinkade would pick up the win in Heat #4. 


The evening's feature would see 18 cars take the green flag and on the start Freddie Carpenter would flex his muscle and pull away to a quick lead while racing picked up throughout the pack. As the Dohm brothers would work to chase down Carpenter in lapped traffic, another Carpenter would be on the move as Tyler Carpenter would race his way towards the front after long battles with Corey Conley, Craig Wolford and more. As the race neared it's final stages, Tyler Carpenter would make contact with an inside tire and eventually bring out a caution ending his day, just as the action between the elder Freddie Carpenter and Nick Dohm would heat up. On the final start, Carpenter would prove too strong for the field, as he would run away with the feature win!


(Late Model Top 5: Freddie Carpenter, Nick Dohm, Zack Dohm Corey Conley, Zach Milbee)


With a stellar turnout of over 40 AMRA Modifieds on Sunday, the class known for their intense racing at Skyline would prove exciting as always. Young standout Kyle Bond would pickup the Fast Qualifier award also presented by Mike Martin, and race his way to a win in heat race #1. Another young standout in Travis Dickson would score the win in heat race #2, while veterans Nick Corbitt (with a flat left front) and Kenny Johnson would take home heat race wins!


The AMRA Modified feature would not disappoint as Kyle Bond and Travis Dickson would lead the 18 car field to the green and the action would soon pick up as Dickson would get the jump on Bond. While the two young guns battled at the front, racing would pick up throughout the pack as Jesse Wisecarver would begin to battle his way to the front and eventually run down the leaders. As Dickson began to battle lapped traffic, Wisecarver would pass Bond and set his sights on the leader but even with the heat on, Dickson would not slip and went on to race his way to the feature win behind the wheel of his #16 machine! 


(Modifed Top 5: Travis Dickson, Jesse Wisecarver, Kyle Bond, Kenny Johnson, Roy Roush)


Another solid turnout would prove exciting for the AMRA Sport Mods, as over 20 cars would enter into the afternoon of racing. Heat race wins would belong to the likes of James Dennis (also fast qualifer) Kendall Hodge and Randy Kerns. The Sport Mod feature would certainly continue to showcase the talent in the Sport Mods, as the field showcased a wide variety of experience levels battling on the red clay oval, but while the racing was intense at times throughout the field, second generation racer James Dennis would pick up the win over Kendall Hodge and Dwight Henry. 


(Sport Mod Top 5: James Dennis, Kendall Hodge, Dwight Henry, TJ Roush, Randy Kerns)


With drivers coming from all across the region to compete in the 4-Cylinder class, which will feature one of the most generous payouts in the region on a weekly basis, Randy Wise would pick up the evening's fast time and the $50 bonus. Heat race wins would be won by Tom Adkins, Joel Nichols, Dennis Adkins and Jordan James. As with any 4-cylinder feature at Skyline,  The evening's feature race would see 18 stout 4-Cylinders take the green but after 12 laps of intense action throughout the field, veteran Tom Adkins would pick up the win over a fast Joel Nichols who kept Adkins honest until the checkered flag flew!


(4-Cylinder Top 5: Tom Adkins, Joel Nichols, Josh Ayers, Jordan James, Matt Miller)


The Skyline Speedway will be back in action on April 14th with a Friday night of racing with ALL regular classes. April 14th will also be a $5 college night, which will allow any college student with a valid ID receive $5 general admission! 




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square